Avast Secureline VPN Review

3
Rated 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (based on 152 reviews)

Here at bestvpnprovider.co, we are trained to think critically and expose the strengths and weaknesses of every VPN provider. From a strictly objective point of view, we recommend Avast to anyone who wants to enjoy a secure, fast, and private VPN connection.

Avast Secureline VPN Review Summary

Avast considers itself a force to be reckoned with in the world of digital security, and by preventing over 1.5 billion malware attacks each month, what they say is not far from the truth. Headquartered in Prague, Avast came a long way since its inception in 1988. Their mammoth user base of over 400 million users on a global level, and with over 1700 employees, this company sure is serious about providing top-notch protection.

Avast provides a wide range of tools for Internet protection, one of which is a VPN service. Their tools are divided into three sections, covering security, privacy, and performance. In this Avast VPN review, we will only focus on their VPN solutions and whether they belong on our list of the Top 10 VPN providers.

Avast Secureline VPN Features

According to its website, Avast’s VPN solution, named Avast SecureLine VPN, encrypts your Internet connection at the click of a button. Avast SecureLine VPN offers the following features on Mac, iOS, and Windows:

  • Open-source privacy protection
  • 256-bit AES encryption
  • No-logging policy
  • DNS leak protection
  • Single shared IP
  • Supports streaming and gaming
  • No bandwidth limits
  • Up to 5 devices
  • Up to 2 gigabits of speed
  • Supports geo-unblocking
  • Supports P2P networking
  • Supports Android TV

This is exactly what you should be looking for in a top VPN provider. Remember, the entire goal of using a VPN client is to have a reliable provider who doesn’t monitor your online activities, provides P2P and geo-unblocking support, has a strong encryption method, and provides anti-leaking measures. Those are the fundamental basics that every self-proclaimed top VPN provider should have, and Avast does.

Avast Secureline VPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

In order to be able to support geo-unblocking, a VPN provider must have an expansive server network spanning across a wide range of countries. Avast doesn’t has a bigger network with servers in 55 locations over 34 countries. Countries include:

  • The US
  • The UK
  • Denmark
  • Canada
  • Italy
  • Belgium
  • Norway
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • France

Their presence is strongest in the US, where they have servers in 16 cities. Even though this is a decent server network, it falls somewhat short when compared to the top geo-unblocking VPN providers which have thousands of servers spread across more countries.

Reliability & Speed Tests

Avast claims that the company is always trying to improve their server speeds and performance in order to provide you with an enjoyable online experience. Here’s what Avast does in order to maintain fast and stable VPN connections:

  • Dedicated hardware servers: Avast’s VPN gateways run on dedicated hardware servers, meaning that they have enough capacity to maintain optimum performance under peak loads. They run their servers in a way that they balance traffic across different servers so that none of them gets overloaded.
  • Adding more servers: They state that they are always adding servers to increase their capacity. In case they need to, they can quickly extend their server capacity by tapping into a network of trusted partners.
  • Speed under pressure: Each of their servers can theoretically reach a speed of 2-gigabits per second. Still, the company is objective about its capabilities, and the company runs regular stress tests which show that the average speed is 400-600 Megabits per second, even during periods of intense loads.

From an objective perspective, a connection speed of 400-600 megabits per second is more than enough to carry out all your online activities in a swift and seamless manner.

Pricing and Payments

Avast offers unique pricing plans. They have different plans if you want to purchase their VPN services for five devices and one device:

  • Five devices: One year $79.99; Two years $149.99; Three years $219.99
  • PC or Mac: One year $59.99; Two years $109.99; Three years $159.99
  • Android: One month $2.99; One year $19.99
  • iPhone or iPad: One month $2.99; One year $19.99

You can download the trial version to try out their VPN services for seven days. Payments can be made via credit cards or PayPal.

Support

Avast has a large customer support section. Content-wise, their website is very rich, and this is good because it means that you will be able to find the answer to your issue just by checking their extensive customer support section. By browsing their website, we found the following customer support categories:

  • Knowledgebase
  • Blog
  • Resources
  • News and events
  • FAQ
  • Case studies
  • Webinars
  • Press center
  • Infographics
  • Ebooks
  • Contact us page
  • Phone support

With this many options, Avast certainly raises the standards to what it means to have top-notch customer support. Even though they lack a live chat feature, you’re still able to call them on their phone number (US: 855-745-3255; UK: +44-800-048-8941; Australia: +611-800-673-935), or by writing an email on their contact page.

POLICIES & LOGGING

Privacy is a right, not a privilege – this is what is written on Avast’s website. Let’s see what kind of customer protection policies they have implemented to justify this statement:

  • Privacy policy: Avast explains that in order to be able to fully protect its users, the company must collect certain personal data. The company aligns its privacy policy to support the General Data Protection Policy established in the EU. The company claims to collect personal data like your name, email address, phone number, cookies, location or other information specific to you. The company will disclose your personal data to third parties if legally obliged, to satisfy a legitimate government request, or in response to a third-party subpoena.
  • No-logging policy: Once you’re connected to their servers, they don’t track the apps you use, the websites that you visit, or the content that you explore. Avast respects a strict no-logging policy.
  • Refund policy: Avast offers a 30-day money-back guarantee from the date of purchase. In order to request a refund, you are required to contact Avast’s customer support and fill out a refund request form.

These are the customer protection policies found on Avast’s website. With a solid 30-day refund policy, no-logging policy, and strong privacy policy, Avast impressed us in this area as well.

Expert Recommendation

Here at bestvpnprovider.co, we are trained to think critically and expose the strengths and weaknesses of every VPN provider. From a strictly objective point of view, we recommend Avast to anyone who wants to enjoy a secure, fast, and private VPN connection. Not only do they use industry-standard methods to apply military-grade encryption, but they also excel in almost every important area.

They offer all the features that one would look for in a VPN provider, including DNS-leak prevention, unlimited bandwidth, and P2P support. Their customer support is great, content-wise, but they could also add a live chat feature to make it easier for users to contact them. They don’t have a lot of servers in many countries, but that doesn’t affect the speed or reliability of their VPN connection. They have a lot of resources, blogs, FAQs, and other relevant content to assist their clients. They maintain a no-logging policy, which is vital, and they also have a 30-day money-back guarantee.

We end this Avast VPN review with a note that we no longer wonder why Avast has a huge user base of over 400 million customers, and we strongly recommend that you use their VPN services for a secure and anonymous VPN connection. With continued effort, they will soon find themselves amongst the best VPN providers we’ve reviewed.

Avast Secureline VPN User Reviews

3
Rated 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (based on 152 reviews)
Excellent32%
Very good13%
Average11%
Poor10%
Terrible34%

Unsatisfied Service

Rated 3 out of 5
September 10, 2019

I called the Avast secure line VPN many times, but they are never able to resolve my query permanently. Then my friend referred me to call at 08081693106 and there i finally i got the solution for my problem. Now i feel secure while using internet.

Kim Leong

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
August 3, 2019

This application will help you beyond belief. You will be safe from all sorts of illegal scams and it is protecting your privacy… If like lots of people, you do not mind privacy and like snooping by other people do not use this program. However when it happens to you, as it has happened to millions of others, do not complain. As programs like this will protect your privacy.

Don Everingham

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 2, 2019

Incredibly slow bandwidth while using the app. My speed goes from 50 Mbits/S down and 8.5 Mbits/S up to 2 Kbits/S down max with as low as .8 Kbit/s and about 1 Kbit/s up. No internet pages or apps that need an internet connection will work because the bandwidth is so slow and the requests time out. Changing to the Gotham City or the other streaming optimized servers don’t change the results either.

Jediman45

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 28, 2019

Will no longer connect, regardless of the location the VPN is trying to route through. Will not connect on WiFi, nor on mobile data. Waste of money, and a borderline scam. Refund if you still can. Avast: fix this or pull your app from the store. 0/5, does not work.

Shelby Judd

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 25, 2019

Once you go to open the app, it wants you to buy another app and will not let you open the app. Apparently the tecs don’t know anything about this since I spent 20 minutes on the phone with no success. Very disappointed.

Douglas Meyer

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2019

Very good data control, try it, you will see, And make sure to buy the multiple for a little bit more money that way to use it all you can phones and computers and all comms in everything else you will be very glad you did

Preston Ridsdale

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
July 23, 2019

I am a fan of Avast products normally. However, I started a 7 day free trial for VPN service and it charged my card instantly $77. It even states 7 day free trial on the cancel subscription. I have contacted Avast support and still no response. I will update this review depending on how this is dealt with. Needless to say it instantly made me not want the product, even if it meets my expectations.

John Godda

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
July 22, 2019

I’m sorry to give such a low score on an avast product, as I’ve never had any issues and been a paying customer for years. The VPN won’t connect successfully to any public WiFi, which is the main reason I installed it on my phone. Notification on top says “We’re doing our best to protect you” and the app constantly tries to connect, without ever doing so or failing with an error. Same results on Optimal location as well as any manually chosen server App and OS on their latest available version

Fotis Manos

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 18, 2019

Works great! Only glitch is when you try and disconnect from the pull down menu of running apps and it will disconnect for a couple seconds then reconnect. You have to open the VPN app and then disconnect from there for it to stay closed.

Trent

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
July 18, 2019

atleast translate ans # i’ve got pro version still many times it doesn’t connect despite strong internet signal. although speed is very good via vpn, it doesn’t change the server location when optimal location isn’t connecting, have to change it manually. they used to have a feature which keeps the vpn always on but suddenly disabled this feature and now i have to keep checking as it goes off automatically and thus i need to turn it on manually everytime.. very annoyed with these inconveniences..

Yefu Chen

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 18, 2019

😣 This app seemed to work at time of installation in my main device. Unfortunately it’s worthless on my phones and tablets as it won’t connect most times and the times that they had my sessions were slow and downloads peppered with awkward pauses. i will continue to rate 2 ⭐’s until i hear back from dev on my submitted emails because i DID see it work for 1 device out of 3 but wont let me rate a 1.5 ⭐ To dev who responded via this review: You left no contact info for me to follow up with. 1 ⭐

Matt

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 18, 2019

like it, especially the fact that avast defended their own interest, after bagoy or whatever his or her name was! maybe you should have a rady routine as to disconnect an obsolete device, so to make room for a new one.

Dieter Frischnecht

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2019

PC version has been working great for years, so far the app is the same! Just remember if you’ve already purchased it on the PC, to select “Already Purchased” in the app and “Use Voucher”, then you just type in your VPN License Number and Boom! (I didn’t know this at first, so I’m hoping this helps someone else!)

Ansley Schellenberg

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
July 8, 2019

paid for it for pc and mobile but app has no clue. it keeps trying to make me pay again. wasted so much time trying to load and reload links for my mobile. i have uninstalled and reinstalled. ever since bought this last year and renewed my email isxovercrun with spam and even got a a ransone ware email.

Lisa Black

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
July 6, 2019

So far it seems effective, though I noticed that attempting to connect to a public Wi-Fi network, it did not want to connect at all. It just sat spinning for several minutes saying “Connecting…” That’s not promising. I’ve had several clear incursions and other foibles occur on my devices. Would someone from Avast contact me and help me find a solution? I don’t feel my mobile privacy is respected at all, and my devices are incredibly vulnerable. HELP PLEASE!!!!

Unknown God

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 5, 2019

Annoying to get popups to write reviews everytime i open app. hopefully this stops them from coming up. if i want to write a review i will. stop trying to force it.

Greg Jr.

Some IP locations don't work

Rated 1 out of 5
July 5, 2019

Some locations don’t work. If you contact them about it, they say that these locations are under maintenance. Since 1 month ago, I have the same problem. If you choose to connect Istanbul IP, it connects to London or if you choose to connect Brussels Ip, it connect Amsterdam.

Luiggi

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 4, 2019

Staying somewhere with weak signal with this on i have not had as much issues with connectivity

William Bellay

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

This app is well done. Updated regularly, and works across a variety of platforms. Any problems that I have had, a simple reboot and it works just fine. The upgrades are worth the wait.

Uriah Yager

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2019

Best VPN EVER! Actually, one of the best, most hassle free apps I have EVER bought! You literally set it & forget it. Most times I forget it’s there! It protects online privacy, as I do all business online, and I’m not worried about my info being stolen, device hacks, or corrupts/ransomware & I also have DAILY browsing privacy. I’m not worried about my day-to-day internet surfing, BUT that’s MY business; boring or exciting, no one else’s! SO THANK YOU! Worth the low & reasonable monthly charge!

Josh Livingston

Why all the hate?

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2019

Priced very well, and as a bonus you get even cheaper prices when you renew. Getting close to my full connection speeds via the VPN. Haven’t had any issues connecting to various servers. P2P traffic and Netflix streaming works well.

Hein

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2019

This is great. No more spies or hackers as I am encrypted very well. They are on a wild goose chase leading to no where and suddenly my internet is running much better and faster.

Kevin Gockij

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2019

App works Great, thanks! I’m updating the view in hopes to satisfy the creators of this app so they may stop asking me if I am pleased with its performance, now … to whom it may concern PAY ATTENTION… ready… are you sure you’re ready … ok … “YES,YES,YES!!!! I’m PLEASED Soooooo STOP ASKING ME, GET IT, GOT IT, GOOD … NOW PLEASE STOP ASKING ME TO RATE IT or I’LL GIVE IT A ONE STAR RATING & A TERRIBLE REVIEW!!!!!

Warren Lambert

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2019

I purchased this in early July and it worked great until 2 months ago when I started receiving “configuration did not download” every time I needed to use this app. So now, despite contacting the company several times with no improvement, I feel ripped off. Don’t waste your time or money. its working really well so I love it now!

C L DeR

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 24, 2019

Only works on Wi-Fi. Doesn’t work with mobile network. Has the worst tech support ever. Complete waste of money.

dogu

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 23, 2019

Really very worst vpn automatically disconnect and really very very slow internet very disappointed app. disgusting and worst app.

prashanth r

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 23, 2019

can no longer select servers that support streaming. The app just chooses one server. how do i get back to gotham or miami?

Mark whatzhisface

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
June 20, 2019

I use to Like it a lot. I use this app when I am on unsecured networks. But, I am disappointed that they do not consider a Microsoft tablet a mobile device and want to charge an addional price for that subscription.

Lisa H.

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 16, 2019

Great service! I use all Avast services because they actually work without device performance issues. The only downside is my phone battery is draining a bit quicker than normal when i have the VPN on but i think that may be due to my phone in general. Thanks avast for amazing service and trustworthy products

Metzler Inc.

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
June 10, 2019

What a joke. Like an idiot, I subscribed again. Support is a joke with their 7 step troubleshooting. Once again the issue is it won’t let me sign on to websites. I have to uninstall, because the deactivate option doesn’t work. So it’s like a wall you can’t control. $23.88 down the drain for another year. I can sign on to a site, and then reinstall the app, but what good is that, my login and passwords could have been viewed already. “Submit Logs”, what Logs and how do you get them? I’m Not Techy

James Johnson

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 9, 2019

This app doesn’t work on my older Samsung Note 10, but Avast still took my money. I tried to get a refund when another years subscription was automatically deducted from my creditcard, but the refund was refused. I’ve since removed my creditcard and cancelled what I thought had already been cancelled. I have reported the problem to Avast many times but with no resulting communication. “Can you write me the number you received from our support” you ask – I have received nothing from your support.

Tony Hurley

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 8, 2019

Have to restart my phone 4-5 times a week because for some reason the app randomly refuses to connect to a VPN… tried uninstalling and reinstalling the app and it still didn’t work consistently and with no kill switch only an auto connect I find myself randomly on my job’s WiFi with no protection, with no alert, which considering the price is unacceptable

fetterman243

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 6, 2019

So far my privacy has been secured, so it worth the download and the subscription. Normally I’m very critical, so I don’t even waste time with reviews, I just uninstall and move one, but this app is worth my time and effort. Not going to give it up. Stream, download and Torrent as much as you like, just be smart and use a good VPN, like this one. Nuff said.

Samuel RoesnerGilles

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
June 5, 2019

App disconnects way too often. And it doesn’t automatically come back up dispite the “Always On” setting. App displays it’s up on the Android status page, thus helping to overload that page. Avast Mobile Security at times says VPN not connected, then I check and it’s connected. To me, app is more expensive than other VPNs and has many opportunities for improvement. If I didn’t trust Avast antivirus I would pick a different vendor.

Greg Powell

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 4, 2019

love it, had it for 2years w/o any complaints & barely no app-crashes..love the update w/more location options to choose from & 99% stay on connection..keep doing what you avast! & I will be here to keep the subscription going🤘🏼

Hiatus Toujou

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 3, 2019

Avast works great! It’s very intuitive and the coverage is thorough and all over Avast’s apps set a high standard. I totally recommend the base avast app, the VPN called secure line and the cleaner as well. They are free but the paid version is good investment if you want real peace of mind.

Barney White

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 1, 2019

after 1 month i can say its the worst vpn i have ever used. now it doent even connect on my phone at all 😤😤😤 am using the free one more than this.. feels like the trial version was doing great, and once i paid nothing is working as it was befor 😡 i want a REFUND

Naïm MIHOUBI

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
May 31, 2019

when multiple devices require multiple accounts as per software changes not hardware changes, then reinstatement becomes a temporary breach possibility.

Keith Yarber

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
May 30, 2019

love the service, it’s great, but I bought the multi device license. it says good for 5 devices, yet it was very difficult to get it to work on any device other than the one I used for transaction. Even after transferring the license manually, everytime I started it from a notification, or didnt have it on auto on wifi on it would pop up with an error connect due to no license. if not for that it would have been 5 starts.

Navarre Smith

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
May 30, 2019

It’s really a best app ever I used for past 3 years. It will be awesome if Admin can start few servers in India. As some cases it really requires. Expecting a positive response from Avast Team

Sudipto. Dey

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
May 28, 2019

Avast’s VPN SecureLine is a great product. I have used it for four years now and with each update the app gets better and is deserving of 5 stars. I had a subscription renewal problem with my account and contacted their customer service through email, but kept receiving auto-response emails, asking for the same documentation that I have sent to them numerous times. I decided to leave a review of their product, stating my situation and the lack of help that I received from their customer service, which prompted a quick and courteous response from one of their reps. Although the rep was unable to help me out, the problem ended up fixing itself in the end, and I am happy with the result. Avast’s VPN SecureLine works very well and I would recommend the app to anyone looking for a reliable VPN for computers or mobile devices. Just know that if you experience any problems requiring customer service, you may not receive the best and immediate response that you are seeking. Instead, leave a review of their app with a description of the problem and you’ll receive a quick reply from a helpful rep.

Leon Chan Dan

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
May 26, 2019

A little overpriced for 3 not all-in-one different purchases. This is phenomenal software however. Best are Avast or Kapersky!

James R. CCameron

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
May 24, 2019

I mainly have a question. I tried this at home on an u restricted connection and of course it worked. I could capture network traffic I suppose to answer my own question but I thought it better to ask here to be sure and get an official answer. First, what type of VPN tunnel does this create? Open VPN, IP-sec, etc? And secondly what protocol does it use? TCP, UDP? And last what ports? I am asking this to determine if it will suit my needs on restricted hotspots and security requirements.

Raul Gonzales

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
May 21, 2019

I usually can’t connect at clubs’ Wi-Fi because the clubs’ networks don’t ask to accept their terms and conditions. Also, Avast VPN auto connects to cellular even when auto connect is turned off. It’s probably time I tried another product, but I like Avast VPN on my PC.

Warwick Brooker

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
May 16, 2019

Bought & installed on phone in minutes. Set to always on & done. No issues Google or MS, but it now refuses to connect on my game rig w/ W7 Pro x64. Went through support and Im sad to say it was more about proving my entitlrment to get support and then avoiding culpability. I just uninstalled and looking for more compatible client. Way too much work for an app that is so simple and so many other good choices. I’ve used Avast products for over 14 years but have changed nearly all now. Sad 🙁

A Google user

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
May 15, 2019

I do not usually Rate/endorse apps – in fact, this is my first time(!). I am, however, prompted on this occasion because I’ve never had a problem using VPN SecureLine by Avast. I trust it works as it says it does and, accordingly, it gives me an added sense of security. Keep up the good work Avast. Can I offer a suggestion? Establish a loyalty program for long time customers/supporters (eg. upgrades after X years)

C Browne

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
May 11, 2019

This use to be a good app/vpn. Now it tries to auto connect even if you have auto connect turned off and if you have it turned on any of the rules you can set don’t work. Don’t want it connect on cellular, too bad. Don’t want it to connect on home/saved networks, too bad. Want to be able to diconnect from the swipe down menu with out having to open the app and do it from there, too bad there too. I won’t be renewing. After this one ends I’m done with the annoying ‘features’ of this app.

Mike Hartman

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
May 8, 2019

Posted 05 May 2019.. This said it was a 7 day FREE trial but it has charged me the full £39.99. I cancelled the subscription but this won’t happen until 2020 so have lost the money. There is nowhere to ask for a refund. 08 May 2019. After posting this it would appear they have dropped the **7 days free** still no refund.

David Hardy

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
May 7, 2019

Um, not providing ANY Controls except to go pro – including turning it off, at all; not even having any searchable information, never mind never actually proactively notifying you in the purchase process that you wouldn’t be able to connect to Xfinity, & would therefore use lots more data. Hasn’t caused me any other problems, but I’d kind of like to give it 2 stars just because this is such an outrageous thing to not have. Seems impossible that it’s not intentional🙄🙄 – Android app

Alexandra Myers

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2019

The stability is not the highlight of this app. The desktop version is great. The app version stops suddenly and works again when it wants. When I am on a call on Whatsapp or Hangout, the connection is cut by the forementioned problem. The other problem is the easy option of disconnection at the bar menu is just for a moment and the app starts again, so I have to open the app and disconnect the vpn manually.

Daavid Landa

Submit Your Review For Avast Secureline VPN