TunnelBear VPN Review

TunnelBear VPN
3.4
Rated 3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5 stars (based on 60 reviews)

TunnelBear seems decent enough. It is operated by a well-known cybersecurity company, McAfee, and has all the basic features of a VPN. It is not a great choice though for streaming or unblocking geo-restricted video contents; it only has a few servers, and the latency is quite high based on our testing. TunnelBear’s free tier will let you test out these aspects yourself.

TunnelBear VPN Review Summary

TunnelBear is a Toronto-based VPN provider that started in 2011. In March 2018, TunnelBear was acquired by McAfee, one of the leaders in the cybersecurity industry. McAfee wisely retained the brand of TunnelBear, which already had over 20 million users.

TunnelBear uses a simple, funny, bear-animated VPN app that is available on Windows, macOS, Android, and iOS. The provider also offers browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox, and Opera, and instructions for manual configuration on Linux. Aside from its VPN service, TunnelBear also ventured into corporate accounts with TunnelBear for Teams, and a password management app called RememBear.

We tested TunnelBear’s VPN service and found it decent at first glance. They are not the best VPN provider we’ve tested, but they are a good mid-pack choice.

TunnelBear VPN Features

TunnelBear has features that are not so different from other VPN providers. It just changed the names, but the features work the same. The features include the following:

  • VigilantBear: TunnelBear’s kill switch feature. It protects a user’s connection whenever the Internet connection drops.
  • Auto tunnel: Automatically connects you to the server with the lowest ping, ensuring a fast connection.
  • GhostBear: Makes VPN traffic less recognizable, which is effective at bypassing VPN blockers set by Netflix, ISPs, and governments.
  • Always On: Enables the VPN client to launch and auto-reconnect on startup.
  • AES 256-bit encryption: The current encryption standard used by top VPN providers and by the government.

All these features, plus the provider’s claimed no-logging policy, don’t make TunnelBear particularly special. Other VPN providers have these features and no-logging claim too. They are a good choice, for sure, but they’re not the best choice.

TunnelBear VPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

TunnelBear has servers in 22 countries, including:

  • USA
  • Singapore
  • India
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • UK

22 countries is on the lower end of the spectrum, with top providers offering closer to 60 or more. They have managed to set up servers in the most popular countries for geo-blocking and avoiding censorship, so that is good to see from them.

TunnelBear server locations review

They don’t disclose the exact number of servers they control, although it says that it is still expanding to more countries. We might see a lot more server locations in the future.

Reliability & Speed Tests

While VPN speed depends on several factors, one way of testing this is to do speed tests before and after connecting to a VPN. This is what we did with TunnelBear.

Our speed and latency count before connecting to TunnelBear was this:

TunnelBear speedtest without VPN

Here is our speed test result when we were connected to TunnelBear:

TunnelBear speedtest with VPN

While download speed went down by four Mbps, latency jumped to a high value. We couldn’t even load a YouTube video in 720p HD. This was unusual.

Aside from the increase in latency, we also experienced a drop in connection when we switched to a different server location.

TunnelBear connection issue

Pricing and Payments

TunnelBear has a freemium VPN service, with the free tier capped at 500 MB per month. This is a great way to test the VPN service. You can even get an additional one GB if you tweet about the provider, which, well, can get annoying if you follow the VPN industry as it creates a lot of spam.

TunnelBear price review

TunnelBear’s regular subscription price is $9.99 per month. Signing up for one year offers 50% savings as you will only need to pay $59.88 for the whole year, or $4.99 per month. This yearly rate is still slightly above other comparable VPN providers who can go as low as $2.50 per month.

Support

TunnelBear’s Help section consists of FAQs which are categorized into the following:

  • Billing and Payments
  • Troubleshooting
  • Getting Started
  • TunnelBear for Teams

The section also contains a link to service announcements and the contact form which seems to be the only means to reach customer support. We filled out the contact form, and we needed to wait for 48 hours for someone to get back to us.

TunnelBear support review

TunnelBear also has Facebook and Twitter accounts. Response time could be faster when questions or inquiries are sent through these social media accounts.

POLICIES & LOGGING

After reviewing dozens of VPN providers, we can say that there’s really no such thing as a no-logging policy, and TunnelBear is honest about this. The first part of its privacy policy states, “As a provider of an online privacy service, we ultimately strive to collect the minimal amount of information required to operate our service. This often means difficult trade-offs between the information we collect and the performance of our service.”

Although TunnelBear doesn’t collect and store IP addresses and usage history, it stores the following information:

  • Account data: This includes your email address, Twitter ID (if you participated in the Twitter promotion), subscription date, and subscription expiry date.
  • Operation data: Operational data pertains to the OS version of your device, TunnelBear app version, total data used for the month, and operational events (like when did you create an account, tweet about TunnelBear for additional data allocation, or make a payment).
  • Cookies and persistent trackers: TunnelBear lists a lot of them, but the most concerning cookie is _ga which is used by Google Analytics to let TunnelBear know the number of website visitors.

TunnelBear review of privacy policy

  • Although TunnelBear uses Google Analytics’ IP anonymization tool to automatically replace the last few digits of a user’s IP address with zeros, this is still concerning since the cookie is stored for two years. Anyone who obtains the rewritten IP address won’t be able to identify the user directly, but they will know the user’s ISP.
  • Payment data: TunnelBear accepts Bitcoin payments for anonymous transactions. However, if you pay with your credit card, the provider will store your last name, the last four digits of the credit card, and the date when the card was used to address credit card fraud complaints. For PayPal or Stripe payments, TunnelBear does not store any information, but the company can view your card billing address, card expiry, and the last four digits of your card.

TunnelBear’s privacy policy went on to say that the company is required to disclose data if it receives a subpoena or warrant, so they are not highly recommended for hackers or those who use torrents.

Expert Recommendation

TunnelBear seems decent enough. It is operated by a well-known cybersecurity company, McAfee, and has all the basic features of a VPN. It is not a great choice though for streaming or unblocking geo-restricted video contents; it only has a few servers, and the latency is quite high based on our testing. TunnelBear’s free tier will let you test out these aspects yourself.

We are bothered by TunnelBear’s use of Google Analytics, especially those that require the IP address of website visitors. Although TunnelBear uses Google Analytics’ IP addresses anonymizer, only the last octet of IPv4 addresses and the last 80 bits of IPv6 addresses are masked with zeros. As a workaround, you can use an anonymous email address and opt out of cookies before you visit TunnelBear’s website.

We like TunnelBear, and know that they have many users out there. They’re an average VPN provider with a great marketing tactic that could meet some particular needs of specific users, such as those who want to package a VPN and a password manager together. They’re not the best of the best, but they are adequate and can be recommended.

TunnelBear VPN User Reviews

3.4
Rated 3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5 stars (based on 60 reviews)
Excellent43%
Very good12%
Average10%
Poor7%
Terrible28%

Easiest VPN Service

Rated 5 out of 5
December 28, 2019

Pros: What I like most about this service is that it is very easy to use. One click and ready to navigate. The interface is another point that I would like to highlight because other services can be very easy too but they do not have an interface as polished as TunnelBear has it. It’s gamified and I like the drawing of the bear very much. For the free version you have 500mb of navigation that you can increase by an additional 1GB if you make a tweet, very good.
Cons: If we talk about cons, TunnelBear is very well done, however I would like to expand the number of servers that can be connected.
Overall: In general TunnelBear is an excellent opportunity for a fast, simple VPN service that has a very good free plan. Additionally, it improves the user experience with its extension for the browser.

Ernesto Enrique F.

An easy-to-use VPN with surprising depth

Rated 5 out of 5
November 12, 2019

The UI shows you are tunneling into a cute, straightforward manner. In the options, though, there are a number of power user options, such as splitting traffic, scrambling, auto-connect, and blocking non-VPN traffic to remain safe on open networks. TunnelBear is a solid solution to anyone looking to secure their traffic on a free open network, or even to bypass geographical restrictions.

Windrixx

Great VPN for first timers

Rated 4 out of 5
October 17, 2019

I have never used a VPN before and found TunnelBear to be a great introduction. It’s super easy, and I really like the simple and cute interface. The only downside it’s that it doesn’t give me access to BBC iPlayer but other than that I would definitely recommend.

Minnie

Cool Bear

Rated 4 out of 5
September 24, 2019

I haven’t got any complaints. watching US tv and torrenting worked good,tunnelling to a country is cool in tunnelbear. it’s better than vpn expert. They are just greedy and invasive. Tunnelbear autostarts. That’s also cool.

John Cox

Easy to use

Rated 5 out of 5
September 6, 2019

Haven’t used a VPN before but with a couple of clicks tunnelbear had me covered. I also find the animations hilarious. Nothing like a bear with a monocle and cap while I’m browsing in Britain. Cheerio!

D.J.

It's really great to be able to hide your IP

Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2019

Seems everything worked for me. I am using it on my Mac and phone as well. The best thing I like it’s how easy it is to switch on. It’s really great in terms of use and for light users they can use the free account. ?

Rakesh Raja

A great and useful VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2019

it’s fast and easy for green hand. I think this is the best vpn I have ever used,and I hope they can reduce the price in the future because I am a student and don’t have enough money to pay.

Zhukaijie

VPN is a must nowadays and for me the best is TunnelBear...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 19, 2019

Pros: I have several devices (Mac, iPhones, iPad, Windows PC and Android) and just setting my TunnelBear account when downloading and installing their respective versions work just great in each device. I really feel protected, as they are constantly updating the app and it offers configuration options who protect you much more; like Browsers plug-ins, traffic emulation, and UDP/TCP forcing for reliable/not reliable internet connections.
Cons: Under really unreliable connections (bandwidth compromised) the experience is really bad, but I guess is unfair to blame the app :).
Overall: A fan of the service, and also it offers timely plans discounts for subscription renewal, really good experience at the best price.

Verified Reviewer

Fast, easy and reliable

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2019

I have used VPN before but most of them had suffered from pangs of connectivity issue. On the other hand, TunnelBear I have been using very recently and it is not only very easy to use but I have never suffered any sort of drop connections whatsoever. Highly recommended.

Lucas

This was once a pretty decent VPN

Rated 1 out of 5
July 11, 2019

This was once a pretty decent VPN, but it has become unreliable and frustrating to use. Very slow, takes forever to connect to any tunnel, with frequent disconnects. Will not be renewing subscription.

Jason Lennick

Works to perfection

Rated 5 out of 5
June 24, 2019

Works to perfection. For some unknown reason, the program “FileZilla” which I use for uploading files to my server is blocked at my school, but with TunnelBear installed everything works without problems.

Jonas

TunnelBear works so amazingly well

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2019

TunnelBear is amazing. It’s easy to install, easy to use, easy to hide. What’s more amazing is the way it just works, without any issues. You guys are amazing. Also don’t forget your reviewed by techradar who only review the best applications out there, and that’s where I found you. Thank you so much TunnelBear!

Alec

I paid for one year and then they took...

Rated 1 out of 5
June 12, 2019

I paid for one year and then they took money for the second year.
I did not want the second year.
They do not refund.
Be aware.

Demo Italla

Very reliable easy UI. I recommend

Rated 5 out of 5
May 27, 2019

It is a reliable service with easy UI. It is easy to use across windows and android. My experience with tunnel bear was amazing I recommend the product to any one looking for VPN service.

Ashish

Using TunnelBear 2+ years excellent

Rated 5 out of 5
May 18, 2019

I’ve been using TUNNEL BEAR for over two years, it’s the best VPN available to date, excellent customer service support. Many friends of mine in the IT sector utilize Tunnel Bear as their brand and reputation has always had the highest standards. Anyone reading negative remarks about Tunnel Bear should really check them out on google as they’re really the best.

Gary

VPN Made Fun

Rated 5 out of 5
May 1, 2019

Pros: – – Consistent and reliable
– – Intuitive and modern interface
– – The bear animations add a welcome flare to the interface
– – Feature rich and robust
– – Fast (of course this depends on your connection but at least it won’t bottle neck your connection)
– – Native applications across many platforms, including mobile and broswer extentions
Cons: TunnelBear has been a reliable and consistent VPN solution for my needs for a while now. I have had no issues with the service.
Overall: TunnelBear has afforded me a comprehensive and inexpensive VPN solution that I can use across all my devices with no issue. The service is reliable and consistent.

Stephanie A.

VPN with some flare

Rated 5 out of 5
April 30, 2019

Pros: TunnelBear is a robust and comprehensive VPN service with a twist; the interface. TunnelBear’s user interface, in addition to being intuitive and modern is fun, the application is a breath of fresh air in a world of applications that take themselves too seriously. TunnelBear has a rich feature set, everything you expect from a VPN is here including an option to hide the fact that you’re using a VPN. TunnelBear has native applications across all the platforms you’re familiar with including mobile and browser extensions. All of this while remaining rather inexpensive.
Cons: There’s nothing not to like here, the service is reliable and consistent. The applications are stable and secure.
Overall: TunnelBear affords me a reliable, simple and inexpensive VPN solution that is easy to use and implement.

Jacqui L.

Well maintained and easily understood

Rated 4 out of 5
April 29, 2019

Everything, how easily it was to start vpn to desired location, and how well it worked to block the vpn, it made accessing blocked sites to different countries accessible, and it was still useable with other apps without making certain things inaccessible.

Corey Smalls

Best VPN ever

Rated 5 out of 5
April 16, 2019

Tunnel bear is the world no. 1 vpn, it’s fast, strong and easy to connect, I will use tunnel bear till the end of the world, thanks for making Internet world a better place, I never thought my privacy could be achieved so good and easy until I encountered tunnel bear

Sorinela

VPN with some flare

Rated 5 out of 5
April 9, 2019

Pros: TunnelBear is a consistent and powerful VPN solution. The service is inexpensive and with applications available across multiple platforms including browser extensions TunnelBear makes it easy to ensure you’re protected and have VPN access wherever you are. The interface is intuitive and for those who don’t know much about VPNs the settings have helpful descriptions for the more complex features. The animations and design of the interface is charming and a welcome change from the dull app interfaces out there. TunnelBear is fast and realiable, easily one of the best VPNs on the market.
Cons: I have not experienced any real issues with the service or it’s apps in all the time I’ve been using TunnelBear, and I’ve been using it for a long time.
Overall: TunnelBear offers an easy to use, secure and consistent VPN service with apps across all the platforms I use at a competitive price.

Marouane T.

I used it and worked the first time!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 4, 2019

I enjoyed using it, however while disconnected it seemed to crash often. If I had a subscription I would definitely use it more. 500 Gigs is a lot I only used about 30 Megabytes. The bear is very strong with this one.

Sam

legit phone number +1-800-648-1620 for...

Rated 2 out of 5
March 23, 2019

legit phone number +1-8OO-648-1620 for customer help support
It has worked in the past but has not kept up with changes or upgrades. Can no longer access BBC iplayer which is disappointing.

Awesome Ravi

Cannot see how Tunnerbear can rate 4 stars

Rated 1 out of 5
January 16, 2019

I have never been able to get it to work, it provides no error messages when it fails, it’s help options are dreadful, they don’t respond to support requests. I am not the only one suffering these issues, other forums report many users with the same issues

Alasdair Munn

It has worked in the past but has not...

Rated 1 out of 5
December 30, 2018

It has worked in the past but has not kept up with changes or upgrades. Can no longer access BBC iplayer which is disappointing.

Tom

Only for short term operations. Period

Rated 4 out of 5
December 27, 2018

Pros: Well, I like everything about the Tunnelbear vpn. It can hide your identity and can connect to any server in almost all of the countries out there. works pretty well. Thishas an Chrome extension so that you can use it with the chrome browser. First you have to create an account and then you have to login. this process is very easy and won’t take too much time. And you can connect right away. There’s an android app so that use vpn from your mobile device wiht those login credentials. Everything is pretty easy. user interface is very simple. and attractive as well. and connecting won’t take too long or there’s no queue like other tools.
Cons: like I said previously, usage bandwidth is limited when you’re using this. like very low. you only get 500MB per month. so it’s not suitable for long term operations like browsing social media, downloading things etc. however they allow you 1 GB if you could tweet about their service. But even that doesn’t sound enough for me. Plus there are some competitors who offer the same service for free! So this is a bit questionable.
Overall: Overall, I’m only using this for some simple operations only. Only reason I’m using this is because of the user friendliness of the app. And this is 100% working where some other tools don’t work sometimes. But the bandwidth limit is too low. So I can only rate it 5 out of 10.

Nadusha V.

Efficient fast and easy to use

Rated 4 out of 5
December 22, 2018

Efficient fast and easy to use, also reasonably priced. I have tried two other VPN’s but I find that TunnelBear Pro Version is more easy and faste. No breakdowns so far. The free version is only of limited udefulness, you may install it and use it for a few days to find out if you like TunnelBear VPN, thats all. Dont settle for the free version as a longtime solution, you will need the Pro version if you use it every day.

O. Golden

Now, being blocked

Rated 1 out of 5
December 11, 2018

I have been using TunnelBear for three years just to watch BBC iplayer and all worked well so a month ago upgraded to a years subscription. On holiday in USA worked fine for three weeks, moved on to Australia and it will not work at all. Awaiting response from Bear Support.

Anonymous

Easy to USE, and great service!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 6, 2018

Easy to use, Even for “un-experienced”. Started using TunnelBear last week only, and the free service is good on it’s own. I would recommend TunnelBear for both their free service as Well as their paid service!

Andre Heriksen

Doesn't work on BBC

Rated 1 out of 5
November 27, 2018

Doesn’t work on BBC, itv, c4, c5. They either can’t or don’t want to fix this. As this is all I’ve used it for , not sure if it works at all.

Michelle

Easy to use

Rated 3 out of 5
November 20, 2018

The app was easy to install and use especially within the browser. The VPN offered choices for many countries but the streaming could have been better for certain sites. Overall decent VPN to use if you want to connect to different channels in different countries.

Anonymous

Literally the best free VPN Available!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 20, 2018

I tried so hard to get a good free VPN but I was always stuck with paying after 2 days. Although tunnel bear limits your data you have it every single day if you use it right. Good free VPN. Honestly I tried 6 VPN’s before but with tunnel bear I can unblock all restricted sites and I feel safe rowing the net.

Tony Rizk

Easy to use

Rated 3 out of 5
September 11, 2018

The app was easy to install and use especially within the browser. The VPN offered choices for many countries but the streaming could have been better for certain sites. Overall decent VPN to use if you want to connect to different channels in different countries.

Maryam78

Doesn't support iPlayer, no renewal notification

Rated 1 out of 5
September 11, 2018

Doesn’t support iplayer. Used to and was the reason I bought it. And OK I signed up for subscription and forgot to cancel but any reputable company would send you a renewal notice after 12 months and tell you your subscription was about to renew. I understand clearly why they don’t do this – they hope you’ll forget and then auto renew. My fault, but this kind of – to my mind – sharp practice means I’ll exercise my choice never to renew my subscription with them again.

Pete

Started strong and ended up wrecking my experience

Rated 1 out of 5
September 5, 2018

I’m not sure what does work with it. It got so bad, I could no longer access gmail, netflix, or thepiratebay when I am in incognito mode–either with TB on OR off. I have written them twice to no avail, and I ended up having to roll my computer back a month to make anything work. Stupidly, because it worked at the beginning, I signed up for a year and I’m now out $59 dollars.

Saseboslim

Wish they would stop the disconnections

Rated 3 out of 5
September 3, 2018

Very pleased overall but it does have a habit of disconnecting after 3 hours or so. I really wish they would fix that. My speeds UK to US are very good and otherwise happy. I feel a number of the negative write ups are motivated more from politics than usage. I have found the vpn service meets all my needs except when it disconnects half way through a movie…

Rich

Speeds have taken a nose dive

Rated 1 out of 5
August 15, 2018

Speeds have taken a nose dive. Disconnected constantly, all servers are slow. Sold out to McAfee, a USA company, no longer based in Canada? Subscriber for 11 months, Will not continue subscription.
My speed with tunnelbear off;
DOWNLOAD
83.96Mbps
My speed with tunnelbear on;
DOWNLOAD
11.27Mbps
This not an aberration, it is very typical of their speeds this year, perhaps after McAfee took over?
Very poor customer service, it seems the links to CS have disappeared.

Sam

No 30-days money back guarantee

Rated 2 out of 5
August 9, 2018

No 30-days money back guarantee.
Also, the amount of locations to choose is really too less.
Apart from that, it doesn’t work to watch videos abroad. Only sometimes it does, but “sometimes” is not reliable enough for me.
It’s a pity that I bought the 1-year subscription since it’s pretty much a waste of money.
I used HideMyAss before and that one seemed better. (Also a bit more expensive, but at least that price matches the service compared to TunnelBear ones)
Also on the cancellation email there is a button to give your feedback, but when you click on it, you land on the helpdesk where you can ask for questions/help, but you cannot give your actual feedback.
All in all, I’m not convinced and wouldn’t recommend it.
(Rating might be modified if TunnelBear comes with a compensation)

BurningRubb3r

TunnelBear VPN doesn't work for BBC iPlayer

Rated 2 out of 5
August 6, 2018

Very easy to use with awesome apps for all your devices.
However, if you want to use it to view BBC iPlayer, then forget about it. I purchased it only to view BBC iPlayer and it worked great for like 1 month. I paid for the yearly plan. After 1 month it stopped working and now it has been 7 months and it just doesn’t work with bbc iPlayer. I have contacted support several times, their answer is that we do not guarantee connectivity to individual websites. A lot of folks who just purchased Tunnelbear to watch BBC iPlayer while in other countries have the same complain.
I think the iPlayer team are quite good at detecting and blocking users connecting with Tunnelbear vpn.
Can I watch BBC iPlayer using Tunnelbear VPN?
The answer is No, you cannot. Please don’t waste your money on it .

Gando Karachi

Works as advertised

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2018

Never used one, it was easy to download, easy to install and easy to get it running. Felt confident it was providing the security I needed as I was traveling and on unsecured public wi fi service. Will keep using it

David Alca

Tunnel Bear works well for Netfilx US for other countries it does not...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 18, 2018

Tunnelbear works well for Netflix US for other countries it does not…. Just tried to see the content of Netflix offer in Mexico but as soon as i try to see a certain item (tv show or film) it simply checks the proxy settings and hinders me watching the item. Anyone having similar issues? Thanks

MMR

So far, so good!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2018

I have signed up for a one month subscription, as I’ll be traveling out of country for almost a month. So far, so good! We were afraid we were going to miss some of our favorite US tv shows, which we normally view through a Starz app that is set up through our local cable carrier. This will do the trick, and we’re glad we found it!!

Carol Forde

Used to be good but no more

Rated 1 out of 5
July 5, 2018

Used to be good but last couple of months or so have been awful. System tray icon will show connected but you are not. On main screen again part of it showing connected but ‘Error’ displayed. Constant ‘maintenance’ pop-ups on initial sign-in. Several times have come out of surfing to find i had lost connection during the session but hadn’t been made aware. Have no trust in it now and signed up elsewhere thankfully having cancelled the auto-renewal due very soon.

Fred Smith

Does what it says on the tin

Rated 5 out of 5
June 16, 2018

Does what it says on the tin, no issues tbh, there are far worse VPN providers and this one is reliable, no DNS leaks either 😊

Ed Brennan

Bear-y Grrrrreat

Rated 5 out of 5
June 5, 2018

Very easy to use even for a novice such as myself, it’s reliable and I love the entire program, keeps with the bear theme. The pop up notifications always give me a giggle. I don’t want to even bother trying anything else.

Kay

Locked up new iphone totally

Rated 1 out of 5
May 25, 2018

Got my iphone replaced by Apple. Had existing Tunnelbear account. Tunnelbear app wants password, but won’t accept it, then returns to password page. Can’t use phone for anything. Great, if you don’t care if phone works.

Greg Goodman

Bear cat

Rated 1 out of 5
May 22, 2018

I really wanted to like TunnelBear After the short free trial, it seemed to work, but of course after I bought it , it completely buggered up my Mac, my iphone and my iPad I have deleted it from all devices and will find something else. ( yes, it was the right version) I hate McAfee and apparently that is the umbrella over this otherwise worthy app.

Cat

Very slow

Rated 1 out of 5
May 15, 2018

Internet speeds have dropped drastically in the last months. I get 75-90mbps without a VPN, and 3-25mbps with Tunnel Bear on. Pathetic! Also have more drops in service and reconnects. I’ve done all of their suggested fixes, nothing. I think TB may throttle speeds. I have done tests on all of their worldwide servers but ALL are extremely slow. I think it was much faster than this last year. I won’t be continuing my subscription after it expires.

Karl

Used to be good but no longer

Rated 1 out of 5
May 13, 2018

Used to be good but since bbc introduced enhanced security they can’t be bothered anymore. Unfortunately this happened a month after I had signed up for another year. This seems to follow a pattern. Companies offer a good service to build up their customer base and then just get lazy. My last few months with Tunnel Bear. I think you probably need a dedicated IP address or at least the ability to choose from a range of UK ip addresses. Recently I found I was actually being routed to the US when it said UK. “Support” couldn’t be bothered. AVOID.

David Hawkins

Seems to work great

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2018

Very easy to use and has a good platform. So far I’m loving it! Easy sign up as well easy to use. Vpn is a must have and tunnelbear really takes the guess work out of it all, click the button when your secure from your is! Love it!

Robert Stratton

Unethical scammers!

Rated 1 out of 5
April 9, 2018

On two separate occasions, I Tweeted as they say to do, and they say they will give 1G free within an hour. Two weeks later, they’ve had their ad on MY TWITTER ACCT for free, and NO extra data. This has happened twice. They send email reply to my complaint a full day later saying my Twitter must not be public, it is and they know because I sent the link that showed their massive ad campaign that they placed there.
Then they send a reply to my informing them of that and say they going to “consent to give me 1G this time”. WHAT???? Gee, that’s big of you Tunnellbear, after stating that’s what you’d do if I did my part!
STILL no data showed up and the next reply told me that I’d have to wait until the monthly anniversary date and they’d add it then. Well, that just came and went with them using my Twitter acct for free ad space two weeks now.
I sent them a final email expressing my opinion of their unethical behavior and uninstalled it on all my devices. If they can’t be keep their word about something that simple, why would I believe they actually protecting my communications? UNETHICAL COMPANY. AVOID THEM.

A customer

Submit Your Review For TunnelBear